Food

Chocolate Almond Butter Recipe: Gluten-Free and Vegan

 

I adore this velvety spread. It is so rich and creamy with a taste  similar to Nutella but with a hint of almond and significantly healthier for you (no preservatives, no artificial ingredients)! And it’s completely vegan, no dairy, as in Nutella. I have used this spread in so many ways. Dips for fruit, spreads on toasts, drizzles on desserts. You simply can’t go wrong with this recipe.

As I have previously mentioned, I’m obsessed about reducing inflammation in my body. One of the compulsive tricks I use in the kitchen is soaking and drying. Nuts have both phytates that bind calcium in the GI tract and lectins that have been linked to inflammation. To minimize this and still get the nutritious fats and proteins from nuts (and beans) I soak them overnight and rinse before using. If needed I will also dehydrate them (however, this is often not necessary)**. In this recipe I do put the soaked almonds in the dehydrator to reduce the water content in the spread. If you prefer to simply use raw almonds  without soaking that is always an option as well.

 

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup Almonds
  • 1 tbsp Coconut Oil
  • 2 tbsp Cacao Powder
  • 1 Tbsp Sugar, honey, agave, or other sweetener

Directions:

  1. Place almonds in blender/cuisinart until smooth (about 5 minutes).
  2. Add coconut oil, cacao powder and sweetener of choice, blend until smooth again.
  3. Voila!

You can choose the sweetness you desire. I often leave it out completely but I don’t have much of a sweet tooth so this is my preferred version. But you can adjust as desired.

**If you want to soak your almonds I place 1 cup almonds in a 2 cup mason jar and cover with water I soak overnight, typically rinsing them once or twice before using. I then place them in a dehydrator at 145 deg F for about 12-16 hours. I store all my nuts this way. They crisp up nicely, even better than presoaked, and they’re less inflammatory!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Almond Butter Recipe: Gluten-Free and Vegan

Leave a Reply

