Food · Recipe

Home Made Delicious Vegan Mayonnaise!

Looking for a vegan mayonnaise not loaded with unhealthy oils and preservatives. Look no further. This recipe is very simple and has only basic ingredients. It tastes just like mayonnaise and works in any traditional recipes calling for mayo. My family can’t tell the difference between this and the egg laden, preservative filled original. Seriously, you’ll never need another mayonnaise recipe.

When I first went about searching for a vegan mayonnaise I check out  my local grocer and found a few items, all of which had preservatives and more disappointingly, unhealthy oils (mostly processed canola, vegetable or soy oil). So I took it a step further and visited a few of the upscale and speciality grocers around. To my surprise, the ingredients were just as unhealthy or worse.

With my son requesting mayo on a daily basis for sandwiches and the like I knew I had to create a healthy vegan alternative. I had previously made mayonnaise using egg and olive oil in the past. Just takes a few minutes. But now, without the egg… I wasn’t sure how to proceed.  I tried a few versions using nut milks, some with more success than others. However, either due to user error or the nature of the beast they would separate in the fridge after a few days and retain a bit of an oil taste.

I wanted to make something smooth and creamy, with a hint of a tang and minimal sweetness (however, this can be adjusted based on preference). After several trials I came up with a super velvety mayo that doesn’t separate and holds up in any recipe I choose. It consistently acts like traditional mayonnaise and stores well in the fridge. Success!

Ingredients:

  • 12 Ounces Organic Non-GMO, Silken Tofu (1/5 cups)
  • 2 Tbsp Organic Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 1-2 Tbsp Organic Vinegar (for a sweeter mayonnaise use apple cider)
  • 1/2 Tsp Lemon Juice
  • ¼ Tsp Salt

Directions:

  1. Drain any excess water off tofu and place in blender
  2. Add all other ingredients and puree until a smooth creamy texture develops
  3. Add water or more lemon/vinegar to taste and to change consistency. I personally like a tangy mayo and use 2 tbsp or more.
  4. Note: It will firm up a tad as it cools in the fridge.

Seriously, it couldn’t be easier.

Bon Appetit!

Nutrition Facts for 1 TBSP: Calories – 16 g, Carbs 0, Fat 1 G, Protein 1 G

Leave a Reply

