Uncategorized

Love Nut Milks, Hate The Additives? I’ve got an easy solution for you! Check out this recipe for Easy Home Made Almond Milk.

Easy Home Made Almond Milk

So you’ve decided to go dairy free. Congratulations! Or maybe you’re not all the way there but you’re cutting back. Way to go, keep it up. Either way I have the recipe for you.

Now cutting out dairy for me was really hard. My 2 favorite foods – Cheese and Ice Cream vanished. Alas, all is not lost. I first tried to replace dairy with nut milks from the store but they’re all packed with junk, I have yet to find a brand without carageenan, lecithins or some other filler. NOT a healthy alternative. So I decided, once again, to take matters into my own hands and make my own milks. Turns out, it’s easy and I feel much better about what I am putting in my body.

There are several ways to make almond milk and here I will post the basic method with some variations you can make at home as you wish. There are a few steps I do recommend not leaving out. The main two are – soaking the nuts beforehand and heating the final product a tad. Soaking the nuts will reduce the phytic acid in the nuts which, if not done, can disrupt calcium absorption as well as zinc. Gently heating the final product will reduce any unwanted bacteria in your milk and help it last longer.

You will need a nut milk straining bag or cheesecloth for this recipe. I bought my nutmilk bag off of amazon. I have had great results. Very sturdy and a fine mesh to keep the fibrous material out.

Makes 6 cups of almond milk

Ingredients:

  • 1 Cup organic raw almonds
  • 5 Cups water
  • 4-6 Dates soaked in warm water until they’re soft (optional)
  • 1/2 tsp Vanilla (optional)
  • 1/4 tsp Cinamon (optional

Directions:

  1. Soak almonds overnight in the fridge. I usually do 12-24 hours
  2. Drain almonds well, and I rinse them too.
  3. Prepare 2, 4 cup mason jars or other storage container.. I sterilize mine by putting a bit of water in the bottom and placing them in the microwave for a few minutes. You could also boil the jars. Set aside.
  4. Bring 5 cups of water almost to a simmer. I usually turn off the heat when tiny bubbles begin to form on the bottom of the pot.
  5. Place soaked, rinsed and drained almonds into a high speed blender with 3 cups of the heated water. (If you opted for dates add them now.) Blend for 3-5 minutes.
  6. Allow mixture to cool and then pour through nut milk bag. I keep the fibrous almond strained residue in the bag and save it to use as almond flour later (just let it dry a bit).
  7. With thoroughly washed hands strain your mixture into a bowl. At this point it will be thicker than the final product.
  8. Once strained add additional ingredients, if desired – vanilla or cinnamon, and water. You can add all of the remaining water or just some. It’s similar to skim, 1%, 2% milk etc. You can even a dash of salt if it suits your taste buds. Be as creative as you like.
  9. Place the milk back on the stove and heat but don’t let it boil
  10. Pour into mason jars (or other container) and store in fridge. My nut milk in a mason jar will last up to 2 weeks without spoiling.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

