easy · gluten free · Recipe · vegan · vegan and gluten free

Ultimate Mac and Cheese Comfort Food Recipe – Vegan and Gluten Free

img_1566

Macaroni and Cheese has always been a favorite of mine. So what happened when I remove gluten and dairy from my diet… Ugh. I had to get really creative. There’s nothing like that creamy goodness of the cheese with the al dente pasta.

Well, I have to say, I tried a lot of different approaches to this one, from nut milks to home made vegan cheeses. I don’t use may store bought pre-made items (such as vegan cheese etc) as they typically contain an oil or other ingredient that I have eliminated from my diet. After several fails and a couple of so-so but not quite right I created this kid and adult approved, mouth watering, delicious creamy and hearty mac and cheese. My son now asks for this version over the typical dairy version. Ultra yum!

Ingredients For Cheese sauce:

  • 1 Cup Smashed Roasted Sweet potato (I usually put mine in the oven, skin on, for about 45 minutes, you could boil or microwave the sweet potato if you prefer.)
  • 1 1/2 Cups Nut Milk or coconut milk of your choice – room temperature
  • 1/3 Cup Nutritional Yeast
  • 1/4-1/2 Tsp Salt
  • 1/2 Tsp Garlic Powder
  • 1/2 Tsp Turmeric
  • 3-4 Tbsp Olive Oil
  • 3 Tbsp Cup Gluten Free Flour (I make my own blend but store bought is fine, I would just avoid ones with chickpea for this recipe)

Cooking Instructions:

  1. Place Olive oil in a pot on medium heat.
  2. Once warm add gluten free flour to create a roux.
  3. Cook for accidentally two minutes on low to medium heat.
  4. Very slowly add in the nut milk while whisking constantly to keep liquid incorporated and prevent lumps.
  5. Once all the liquid has been added continue to whisk for approximately one minute on medium heat.
  6. Add in nutritional yeast, garlic powder, turmeric and salt. Reduce to low heat and continue to stir for approximately one minute.
  7. Remove from heat and add in sweet potato. At this point you can incorporate the sweet potato by either using an immersion blender or for placing in a countertop blender. Blend until very smooth and creamy. Can add additional milk if needed.

Serve over your favorite gluten-free pasta. I typically use lintel or quinoa pasta.

Nutrition Facts for Sauce 1/16 of total: 75 Calories, 2.9 g Fat, 10.2 g Total Carbs, 0.6 g Fiber, 0.4 g Sugar, 1.3 g Protein. 

 

2 thoughts on “Ultimate Mac and Cheese Comfort Food Recipe – Vegan and Gluten Free

Leave a Reply

